Using Technology to Keep Motivated with vV0(2max) Interval Analysis


Technology helps me keep motivated since my goal races of Seek the Peak and the Grouse Mountain Grind Race are 6 and 9 months away. Performance management tools (software and devices) have come a long way in twenty years. I started using Polar Heart rate monitors to ensure that I was in the target training zone, not too high and not too low. Heart rates had to be just right like Goldilocks. The problems with using a heart rate monitor alone are that they don’t show far you go or your pace for each zone. Last July, after using Polar monitors without GPS since I was a teenager, I was convinced to switch to a Garmin 305 Forerunner with GPS to track speed, distance and heart rates.

In business management there is a saying “what is measured, will be managed,” so what are your key performance indicators when improving your fitness? Mine are 1. Speed at lactate threshold increases; 2. heart rate at X speed decreases or speed at X heart increases. Recently my focus has been to boosting my VO(2max) and vVO(2max), the maximum amount of oxygen my body can process and at the pace that I can sustain that effort at.

Combining the GPS of the Garmin Forerunner 305 with Training Peaks WK0+ enables me to analyse each training session to see if my speed at certain heart rates is increasing. By comparing the same type of sessions over several weeks noticed some trends. Below is a comparison of the last three weeks of vVO(2max) interval sessions which were mostly completed on the treadmill at 8.9 ā€“ 9.2 mph for vVO(2max) periods.

Date

vVO(2 max) Intervals (Work:Recovery min)

Duration

TSS(IF)

Normalized Grade Pace

Min HR

Max HR

Avg HR

Recovery Pace (mph)

26/01/2011

3.0 : 3.0

24:11.0

38.1 (0.936)

7:55 (203.3 m/min)

115

195

153

5.1

21/01/2011

3.5 : 3.0

25:58.0

0 (0)

114

188

153

4.5

19/01/2011

3.5 : 3.0

25:58.0

0 (0)

108

189

154

4.5

14/01/2011

3.5 : 3.0

25:59.0

0 (0)

99

185

153

4

05/01/2011

3.25 : 3.0

24:59.0

0 (0)

100

187

152

4

03/01/2011

3.0 : 3.0

24:06.0

0 (0)

93

187

151

4

Today was such a beautiful day that I went outside on a fairly flat area of North Vancouver. It was quite a challenge to figure what 8.9 mph ā€“ 9.1 mph feels like on the road (see this workout on training peaks). This week is a recovery week, so the duration of the work period was reduced to 3.0 min. Throughout the last three weeks I was able to keep the average heart rate similar for each session, maximum heart is close to the same level, recovery pace increased without a big jump in heart rate while speed for each interval increased from 8.9 mph to 9.1 mph.

All of this data only becomes information when it is analysed and then knowledge when I use it to adjust my training. Over time next four weeks I will continue to complete these vVO(2max) intervals and retest my VO(2max) at near the end of February. Tomorrow I should have the Footpod for the Garmin which will log the indoor pacing more accurately during inclement weather.

Seeing these small increments and feeling the ease at which I am able to run for 40 minutes is keeping me motivated to continue training for Seek the Peak and informed that my workouts are having the physiological affect I want.

How do you keep motivated to reach your fitness resolutions or goals? How do you keep motivated to reach your business goals? What do you measure? How do you translate the data in information and then into valuable information that affects your decisions?

Related Posts

Getting Unstuck from Doing Long Slow Distance to Increase VO(2max)

Please Share Your Thoughts

